Cyril Ramaphosa appoints new SABC board members

President Cyril Ramaphosa has formally appointed eight non-executive directors to fill vacancies on the board of the SABC with immediate effect.

The new board members include erstwhile national consumer commissioner Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi, who will serve as deputy chair of the board; SA National Editors’ Forum founder member Mary Papayya; and controversial academic and psychologist Sathasivan Cooper. The other new board members are: Jasmina Patel, Marcia Socikwa, Bernedette Muthien, David Maimela, and advocate Motshedi Benjamin Lekalakala.

Bongumusa Makhathini will continue serving as chair of the board.

read full story